I Don’t Know Anything About Football

John Belushi in "Animal House," photo courtesy of Fablo Venni on Flickr.

John Belushi in “Animal House,” photo courtesy of Fablo Venni on Flickr.

We are three weeks into the football season, and the only thing I seem to know is that I know nothing about football.

I am in…wait no…I was in multiple survivor pools and like most of the world thought there was a full John “Bluto” Blutarski 0.0 chance the Buffalo Bills could go to Minnesota and make it a game, let alone actually win. No, they didn’t just win they kicked the everloving piss out of the Vikings. So, I am no longer surviving and dead in all three pools.

If you have been following my picks this season, I am now 3-6, and I am stunned. What happened to the Deshaun Watson that I promised to no longer bet against? The Giants bench one player and all of a sudden looks like a competent football team?

More surprising than anything, the New England Patriots lost back-to-back weeks. And by lost, I do not mean they didn’t cover, they lost outright back-to-back weeks. This hasn’t happened since caveman days! Seriously, this is just the third time in the Belichick era that they have lost back-to-back weeks by double digits. The rest of the league in that span has lost back-to-back games by double digits about 1,000 times or so.

I am also in a pick’em league where for two straight weeks now I have just four wins…FOUR! There have been 16 games each week, and I just picked one-fourth of the games correctly! That is ridiculous!

So, now I am at a crossroads in my life. I can either turn it around and go on a hot streak here or buy a cabbie hat, a thick set of glasses and go into the bathroom with JoJo the Whale!

~T.J.

One thought on “I Don’t Know Anything About Football

  1. Pingback: TJ’s Picks for Week 4 | Buzz Cuts

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.